Jazzdimensions
www.jazzdimensions.de: jazz, worldmusic, songwriting & more
home / interviews / international / 2006

Jean- Paul Bourelly
- "The Backroom-Projekt"

[deutsche Fassung hier]

"Vibe music at the date of the Love-Parade"

Initiator of the "Back Room Project" in the House of Cultures, a blues-musician with a sense for "Chicago-Slowness" and stage-act in the Quasimodo on the saturday evening of the love-parade with a "high-energy alternative program": Jean-Paul Bourelly is not only always good for a surprise, he also uses the means of the city of Berlin to set new impulses and by this opens the eyes of people (if they are willing to see).

After the band had spend hours in a traffic jam, the sound-check at the "Quasi" could take place only a short while before the beginning of the concert. So the scheduled interview was postponed until the last minute before the band finally hit the stage. - But: I faced a well-balanced, good-humored Jean-Paul Bourelly, who managed tuning his guitar and talking at the same time. And this is what we talked about while Reggie Washington (b) and Felix Sabal Lecco (dr) in the background were getting their things together:

Jean-Paul: O.k.- Shoot!

Carina: First question: Why do you play this concert at the date of the Love-Parade?

Jean-Paul: Why do I do it at the date of the Love-Parade? I think, a lot of good energy is around this thing. We were on tour, and we had the chance to do it before we were on tour. But one suggestion was: Love-Parade - and I just thought: O.k., the Love-Parade is going in one direction, we are going in another direction, let it just happen. May be I can add to that spirit by doing something else, you know. So I didnīt hesitate, I said: Yeah! Love-Parade is the day we do it.

Carina: You are the founder of the "Back Room Project" - at the press-conference, on the first day, I thought, most of the journalists couldnīt see what is new on this project. And I got the impression that they are not willing to give something a chance that is out of their reach of thinking. How did the idea come in your mind to start a project like that? And what do you think how is it going on?

Jean-Paul: Itīs going on very well. I am glad you said what you said, because I agree with it. But I think, that I just wanted to support something - in terms of new ideas. Thatīs really hard in this city. You know, people are not very often supporting new ideas like I feel that they could. This is really trying to be a progressive city. It should be nothing to embrace somebody who is experienced, who is trying to do something new. Some of the questions were really shocking to me, you know. And it just showed to me that on some level, in some corners, the city is very progressive and in some corners it is quite disfunctional. And I just want to be a source to open all that up. - So itīs going quite good. The first two concerts were great - the first concert was really great - it shocked me that nobody reviewed it. It shocked me, it really shocked me - I said: Itīs not possible! Nobody reviewed this one. But there was one review, our radio-review, for the second one... Itīs a story for people to write about. It is really benefiting the people, you know.

Carina: "The lonely one" - a song of your new CD "Vibe Music" - what does the text mean for you?

Jean-Paul: Oh, man! - itīs a whole fighting at the psychology of colonialism, colonialism in the head. ... And itīs just trying to make people aware - I donīt want to be moralistic or anything like that. But it was really my way of expressing: just be careful, you know, the message you take is open - is really open. Itīs always our aim to try to get people to stay open. Because if they donīt stay open, then they canīt hear our music.

Carina: You have learned a lot of techniques and this is a base for what you are able to play on stage. But then, how much feeling is in it?

Jean-Paul: Itīs all, itīs all feeling. I mean, itīs probably eighty percent feeling. You try to get your technique on a level where you can actually forget about it. Where it just becomes kind of subconcious. And then you can speak through the instrument. But if you contest for what you do, you canīt really speak. Itīs more like an 'exhibition'. - And you know, 'exhibitions' are fine, but they will never make anybody cry or open up your eyes or something.

Carina: What does it mean to you to be a musician?

Jean-Paul: That doesnīt really mean anything - it doesnīt mean anything for me to be a musician. It means more to me to be somebody who is expressing ideas. I love it that I am expressing ideas through sound. That is a way that I have learned, that I know very well and that I am comfortable with. I really couldnīt imagine doing it any other way - well I could, but not really a lot. I can imagine writing a book, directing a movie..."best movie of the..."- I can imagine trying it and try and have a good time. I know how to work with sound - I suppose anybody knows how to do something and how to manipulate a thing. Thereīs a certain amount of enjoyment in it. But as a musician - I donīt really think of myself as a musician - that would be too much like, you know: Somebody working at the 'Tankstelle' or something. Just: 'Play me this A-chord'. And - you know: "O.k., Sir! - Give me my money!' "

Carina Prange

Jean-Paul Bourelly im Internet: www.bourelly.com

Photos by Carina Prange

© jazzdimensions2000
erschienen: 7.10.1999
   home | interviews | reviews | clubtermine | tourtermine | festivaltermine | news | links
Sitemap  |   Impressum

 
interviews
reviews
live/clubs/berlin
live/on tour
live/festivals
news
links
home
info@jazzdimensions.de
Diese Seite drucken/Print this page
Empfehlungen:

Jazzdimensions
www.jazzdimensions.de: jazz, worldmusic, songwriting & more
home / interviews / international / 2006

Jean-Paul Bourelly
- "Das Backroom-Projekt"

[english version available]

"Vibe music at the date of the love-parade"

Ideengeber für das "Back Room Project" im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Bluesmusiker mit Sinn für "Chicagoer Langsamkeit", Konzertant am Samstagabend der Loveparade im Quasimodo mit einem energiereichen "Alternativprogramm": Jean-Paul Bourelly (voc, g) ist nicht nur stets für eine Überraschung gut, sondern nutzt die Stadt Berlin auch, indem er neue Impulse setzt und vielen Menschen die Augen öffnet (wenn sie nicht vorher schon den Kopf wegdrehen, um nicht hingucken zu müssen).

Nachdem die Band stundenlang im Stau gestanden hatte, der Soundcheck im 'Quasi' erst kurz vor Konzertbeginn stattfinden konnte und auch der vorgesehene Interviewtermin sich bis auf die letzten Minuten vor dem Auftritt verschob -: Mir saß ein ausgeglichener, zwischendurch seine Gitarre stimmender, aber ganz und gar nicht aus der Ruhe und von seiner guten Laune abzubringender Jean-Paul Bourelly im Gespräch gegenüber. Und das, worüber wir redeten, während Reggie Washington (b) und Felix Sabal Lecco (dr) ihre sieben Sachen etc. sortierten, liest sich dann so:

Carina: Warum gibst du dieses Konzert gerade zum Termin der Loveparade?

Jean-Paul: Ich denke, daß eine Menge guter Energie um diese Veranstaltung herum fließt. Wir waren jetzt gerade auf Tour, aber hatten auch die Möglichkeit, vor der Tournee hier ein Konzert zu geben. Und ich dachte: O.k., Loveparade, da ist soviel Energie drumherum und die geht in ihre eigene, spezielle Richtung, wir gehen in eine andere Richtung. Vielleicht kann ich meine Sache zu dem vorhandenen "spirit" hinzufügen, indem ich etwas ganz anderes mache. - Ich habe keinen Augenblick gezögert, sondern gesagt: Loveparade ist der Tag, an dem wir auftreten!

Carina: Du bist der Begründer des "Back Room Project". Auf der Pressekonferenz vor der ersten Veranstaltungsreihe dachte ich, daß die meisten Journalisten gar nicht verstehen konnten, was neu an dem Projekt ist. Und ich überlegte mir: die wollen etwas, das außerhalb ihres Vorstellungsvermögens ist, von vorneherein keine Chance geben. - Wie kamst du auf die Idee, ein Projekt wie dieses ins Leben zu rufen und wie wird es deiner Meinung nach weitergehen?

Jean-Paul: Das Projekt läuft sehr gut. Ich bin froh, daß du das gesagt hast, was du gesagt hast, weil ich damit übereinstimme. - Ich denke, ich wollte einfach nur neue Ideen ins Leben rufen und das ist sehr schwer in dieser Stadt. Die Leute unterstützen hier neue Ideen nicht so sehr, wie sie es meiner Meinung nach könnten. Diese Stadt versucht progressiv zu sein, es sollte eigentlich kein Problem dabei geben, jemandem entgegenzukommen, der Erfahrung hat und der etwas Neues ausprobiert. - Einige Fragen auf der Pressekonferenz haben mich wirklich schockiert. Und das zeigt mir wieder, daß diese Stadt in gewissen Bereichen sehr progressiv ist, in anderen aber sehr rückständig. Die ersten beiden Konzerte waren großartig, und da wie gesagt auch das erste Konzert klasse war, hat mich sehr schockiert, daß es niemand rezensiert hat! Ich sagte mir: Das ist nicht möglich. - Im Radio war dann ein "Review" für das zweite Konzert ...
Und das ganze ist allemal eine Geschichte, über die es sich zu schreiben lohnt ...

Carina: "The lonely one" - ein Stück deiner neuesten CD "Vibe Music" - was bedeutet der Text für dich?

Jean-Paul: Oh, man! - es geht um die Gesamtheit des Kämpfens gegen die Psychologie des Kolonialismus. Und diese Psychologie ist ein großes Problem, selbst bei den großen Medien - insbesondere die angeblich links eingestellten - die koloniale Mentalität kommt überall wieder raus. Und der Text versucht, Menschen darauf aufmerksam zu machen. Ich will dabei nicht irgendwie moralisierend oder sowas sein, es ist einfach mein Weg zu sagen: Sei vorsichtig! - Die Message, die der einzelne mitnimmt, ist offen. Es geht immer nur darum, die Leute dazu zu bewegen, offen zu bleiben. Denn wenn sie das nicht sind, können sie unsere Musik nicht hören.

Carina: Du hast sehr viel Technik erlernt und sie bildet die Grundlage für das, was du spielst, wenn du auf der Bühne stehst. Aber wieviel Gefühl ist da mit drin?

Jean-Paul: Es ist alles Gefühl. - Ich meine, es sind etwa achtzig Prozent Gefühl. Du versuchst, deine Technik auf einen Level zu bekommen, auf dem du sie dann vollkommen wieder vergessen kannst. Auf dem sie sowas wie unterbewußt wird. Und dann kannst du durch dein Instrument sprechen. Aber wenn du ständig um das ringst, was du tust, kannst du nicht wirklich sprechen. Dann ist es mehr wie eine "Exhibition". - Und du weißt ja, "Exhibitionen" sind nett, aber sie werden niemals jemanden zum Weinen bringen oder deine Augen öffnen.

Carina: Was bedeutet es für dich, ein Musiker zu sein?

Jean-Paul: Ein Musiker zu sein, bedeutet gar nichts für mich. Es bedeutet viel mehr für mich, jemand zu sein, der seine Ideen ausdrückt. Ich liebe es, Ideen durch Sound auszudrücken. - Das ist ein Weg, den ich gelernt habe und den ich gut kenne und wobei ich mich wohlfühle. Ich kann mir nicht vorstellen, das auf eine andere Weise zu tun. Das heißt, ich könnte schon, aber nicht so sehr - ich kann mir überlegen, ein Buch zu schreiben, einen Film zu drehen usw. - aber mit Sound zu arbeiten, das kenne und kann ich. Ich vermute, jeder hat bestimmte Sachen, die er gut beherrscht, und mit denen er gut umgehen kann(manipulate?). Es liegt ein bestimmter Grad von Vergnügen darin. - Aber ich würde mich selbst nicht als einen "Musiker" bezeichnen. Das ist zu sehr wie: "Somebody working at the 'Tankstelle' or something. Just: 'Play me this A-chord!'. And - you know - the answer is: 'O.k., Sir! Give me the money!' "

Carina Prange

Jean-Paul Bourelly im Internet: www.bourelly.com

Fotos: Carina Prange

© jazzdimensions2000
erschienen: 7.10.1999
   home | interviews | reviews | clubtermine | tourtermine | festivaltermine | news | links
Sitemap  |   Impressum

 
interviews
reviews
live/clubs/berlin
live/on tour
live/festivals
news
links
home
info@jazzdimensions.de
Diese Seite drucken/Print this page
Empfehlungen: