Jazzdimensions
www.jazzdimensions.de: jazz, worldmusic, songwriting & more
home / interviews / portraits / 2006

Rigmor Gustafsson -
"Basically I sing guitar lines"

[Deutsche Version]

When in recent years Scandinavia came up with a seemingly endless stream of extraordinary and innovative instrumentalists, it at the same time turned out to be home of many excellent female singers as well. One of these new rising stars on the jazz-firmament is Rigmor Gustafsson. During the festival-season in 2002 she was praised for her performances at the Jazz Baltica Festival and at the Berlin Jazzfest, whose musical director, Nils Landgren in the end became the producer of her next album.

Rigmor GustafssonRigmor Gustafsson

While in her first works the primary focus was a compact band sound, for "I will wait for you" the weight has now shifted entirely to featuring Rigmor's cristal-clear voice. And Nils Landgren didn't confine himself to just producing – here he can also be experienced as a vocalist and on his favorite instrument: the trombone.

Carina: Up to now all your albums used to be published on Prophone Records – are you an ACT-artist now with body and soul? Do you have plans for new CDs already?

Rigmor: Well, I am an ACT-artist now, I definitely am! You know, I signed a contract with them (laughs). We'll see what happens in the future. I mean, now I take one step at a time.

After the release of the current CD "I will wait for you" it will take a while before I will record a new one. I actually have no plans about that right now. I did three CDs before this one; these were with my quintet and that's a different, more intense music. And more originals. Maybe I'll get back to something like that in the future, but I donīt know yet. Right now it felt perfectly fine to continue with something different.

Carina: How much importance does the group-feeling in a band have for you? Should, in a vocal-orientated context, the band only be a backing for the singer? Where do you see the role of each musician?

Rigmor: Ah! Very interesting question. Actually this is funny, that you ask it: Because, with everything I did before with my band, I always had the perception that in this quintet I am just one among of five people. We are five equals. And I never had the feeling that their role was to accompany me. We were definitely taking as much space, each of us, as we wanted to. But I felt – after a while, after three CDs –, that actually I wanted some more room...

And also in the end... – lately in the band, it had felt as if everyone was taking more and more of it. And it's hard as a vocalist to get one's own space – I really have to fight for that. I felt like, "Ah, I want more space!" And so this actually came perfect to me that we were doing this record. Because this band is really "backing me up". And it's a great feeling, it really is a great feeling. Maybe in the future I'll feel like I would want the musicians to again take more space. Maybe I'll also look at myself as an instrument that is communicating with the other instruments. But at this time, right now, I am really happy. I have a band that is backing me up – and a lot of vocals. And itīs great. Itīs an extraordinary feeling.

Rigmor Gustafsson

Carina: Prominent among your teachers was Sheila Jordan – is there something special she gave you on the way for your own singing and teaching?

Rigmor: Oh, well, she is a great person. And I think, her main influence on me was just by being the way she is. She is really inspiring, very supportive and a really great person with a lot of experience. So, itīs hard to say just one special thing that she definitely "did". I just said it, the way she is as a person was really inspiring. And I hope that this has influenced me to maybe become something like that, hopefully.

Carina: You often change between lyrics and "word-less" singing, blending in as one instrument among the others. How did this way of singing and improvising become one of your main focuses?

Rigmor: You mean, where is the origin? Hard to say – well, actually, I guess the answer is: I started as an instrumentalist. I was playing the guitar for many years. And that was my main instrument and I really wanted to become a guitarist. Then, while I was studying at the junior college – I was studying music in Sweden – I felt that it was fun to sing, too. I said, oh well, I can actually sing these little lines that I am playing on the guitar!

I was studying jazz, improvising and music in general on the guitar. So then I just thought ... – Ah, itīs much easier to sing this! I think it was through the guitar that I got the idea. For me "singing" did not mean being a vocalist who is backed by a band, singing lyrics. I came to singing via the guitar, so I'd say . Consequently it was pretty natural to me to sing solos like scat-solos, sing without words and together with the horn-section. That just came natural somehow. And I guess thatīs the way how it worked.

Rigmor Gustafsson - "I will wait for you"

Carina: You have been in the United States for three years to work as a teacher at the "Mannes College of Music", where you once studied yourself. What was the reason for you to return to Sweden in 1996?

Rigmor: It was actually very concrete, I had been studying in New York, and then I was working for one and a half year, I was teaching a little bit and trying to freelance. And then I had a problem with my visa. I realized that I had to get a visa to stay. And I really wanted to. I told myself: "O.k., you need to get some money somehow to pay yourself a visa, whatever!" – Exactly then I was called from the 'Royal Academy of Music', Stockholm. They said there was a vacancy on the jazz vocal teaching: "So would you please apply for that?"

At the same time I felt that it would be hard to stay in New York, because I had to get a visa somehow. I didnīt want to study anymore. And I also didnīt want to stay there illegally, like a lot of friends, who had just simply stayed there when their visas went out. I didnīt want to be in that position, because I prefer to be able to travel the world. So, I said, well o.k. – I'll apply for that! And I went home to do all kind of auditions for the job and I got it.

Maybe it was time to go back home. I had been in New York for three and a half year when I got this good job in Sweden – maybe it was the sign that itīs time for me to go back. And it turned out to be a very good idea, I am really happy that I did it actually. Because it was a new start – then I got the record-deals with Prophone. It was good!

Nils Landgren - Rigmor Gustafsson

Carina: Besides teaching, you compose and arrange for several vocal ensemble groups, for jazz-ensembles and big-bands. And there are your own musical projects as well. Which one do you favor most?

Rigmor: Oh, what I favor most is to compose music for myself ... Well, when I compose, I really donīt think, will this be for a big-band or for whatever. I just make a song. It depends on some things, but most of the time you get an idea of a melodie or a harmonie-connection somehow. Or you get a lyric that you start writing to. So then after a while it becomes an idea.

Usually I donīt think about what group I perform it with, I just try to compose the music. I mean, I have been playing a lot with my quintett for years. So I guess that in my head even though I havenīt been thinking about it clearly, I am influenced by that I have the quintett when I write and have an idea.

Carina: And what takes most of the energy – teaching, composing or ... ?

Rigmor: Oh, I am not teaching anymore, definitely not! – Since a couple of years back I have been totally busy with singing. Which is great. Maybe Iīll teach in the future, I donīt know. I do some seminars now and then, but I donīt teach anymore at the college. Itīs great to just sing and compose music: thatīs what I am trying to do. Now – lately on this CD that are not my own compositions. There is only one, but I try to – itīs a feeling of being creative, you know, even if I donīt use it or play certain songs that I do, itīs still the feeling of being creative that is very, very important to me. That takes the most time and that is also the most inspiring.

Carina Prange

Current CD: Rigmor Gustafsson - "I will wait for you"
(ACT 9518-2)

ACT-Music: www.actmusic.com

A translation of this interview was published in Jazz Podium 9/2003

Photos: ACT Music

© jazzdimensions2004
erschienen: 9.2.2004
   home | interviews | reviews | clubtermine | tourtermine | festivaltermine | news | links
Sitemap  |   Impressum

 
interviews
reviews
live/clubs/berlin
live/on tour
live/festivals
news
links
home
info@jazzdimensions.de
Diese Seite drucken/Print this page
Empfehlungen:

Jazzdimensions
www.jazzdimensions.de: jazz, worldmusic, songwriting & more
home / interviews / portraits / 2006

Rigmor Gustafsson -
"Ich singe im Grunde Gitarrenlinien"

[English version]

So wie die Nordischen Länder verstärkt in den letzten Jahren mit guten und experimentierfreudigen Instrumentalisten aufwarten, so kommen von hier auch immer wieder herausragende Sängerinnen. Der neue aufsteigende Stern am schwedischen Firmament heißt Rigmor Gustafsson, und hatte in der Festivalsaison Sommer 2002 vielgelobte Auftritte, unter anderem auf dem JazzBaltica Festival und auf dem Jazzfest Berlin - letzteres unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Nils Landgren. Im September letzten Jahres erschien ihr neues Album "I will wait for you".

Rigmor Gustafsson

Stand früher für Rigmor Gustafsson in erster Linie der Gruppensound im Vordergrund, so liegt jetzt das Gewicht auf ihrer klaren, präsenten Stimme und dem passenden, darum gewobenen Klangteppich. Als Produzent, Mitmusiker und -sänger zeichnet der Posaunist Nils Landgren für das neue Album verantwortlich, auf dem Rigmors ausdrucksstarker Gesang brillieren kann.

Wann kam die Idee auf, mit Nils Landgren zusammenzuarbeiten und was ist das Besondere an dieser Verbindung?

Rigmor: Ich habe mit meiner Band auf dem Jazzfest Berlin gespielt, das ja Nils organisiert hat. Wir kennen uns natürlich auch aus Schweden, aber das Jazzfest war der Moment, an dem wir eine engere Verbindung geknüpft haben - damals fand auch die Kontaktaufnahme zu Sigi Loch statt. Nils hat mich dann gebeten, auf seinem "Sentimental Journey"-Album zu singen, und damit kam bei Sigi Loch die Idee auf. Ich habe angefragt, ob Nils denn der Produzent sein könne, wenn es ein Album für ACT geben würde. Es kam eigentlich alles ganz von alleine...

Carina: "Rigmor Gustafsson live" war dein letztes Album mit deinem eigenen Quintett. Bisher wurden deine drei eigenen Alben auf Prophone Records herausgebracht. Bist du nun "mit Haut und Haaren" ein ACT-Künstler?

Rigmor: Klar bin ich jetzt ACT-Künstlerin - definitiv! Ich habe einen Vertrag mit ihnen unterschrieben, also bin ich's. Und mal sehen, was die Zukunft bringt. Ich meine, man soll einen Schritt nach dem anderen machen. Jetzt ist erstmal dieses Album angesagt, das im Herbst erscheint - mit dem Titel "I will wait for you". Die Musik ist aufgenommen, alles ist bereit. Wenn das da ist, wird es bestimmt etwas dauern, bis ich wieder eine neue CD einspiele. Mal abwarten. Ich habe noch keinen festen Plan.

Vorher habe ich ja drei Alben mit meinem Quintett eingespielt, eine ganz andere, sehr intensive Musik mit mehr Eigenkompositionen. Vielleicht komme ich später auf sowas zurück - ich kann's noch nicht sagen. Aber genau jetzt finde ich es einfach total herrlich, mit etwas ganz anderem weiterzumachen.

Carina: Wie wichtig ist dir ein Gruppengefühl in deiner Band? Sollte die Band als Backing für den Sänger fungieren, wenn es sich um einen gesangsorientierten Kontext handelt?

Rigmor: Eine sehr interessante Frage, und wirklich drollig, dass du das fragst. Lass mich kurz erklären: Mit meinem Quintett habe ich zuvor immer propagiert, dass ich lediglich eine unter fünf beteiligten Personen bin. Unter fünf gleichberechtigten Individuen. Ich habe es nie so gesehen, dass sie mich "begleiten". Wir haben uns soviel Raum genommen wie wir wollten - jeder von uns. Aber nach einer Weile - nach drei Alben genauer gesagt -, hatte ich das Bedürfnis, als Sängerin einfach mal mehr Raum zu bekommen. Das ging nicht nur mir so - gegen Ende der Quintett-Zeit hatte ich das Gefühl, dass jeder immer mehr und mehr Raum fordert.

Und das machte es mir schwer, als Sängerin, mir meinen Raum zu erkämpfen. Von daher war es der perfekte Moment für mich, diese CD zu machen. Die Band pusht mich einfach total, was ein großartiges Gefühl ist - wirklich sehr schön. Vielleicht habe ich irgendwann wieder Lust, den anderen Raum frei zu machen. Vielleicht möchte auch selber wieder mehr wie ein Instrument mit meiner Stimme agieren, mit dem Rest der Instrumentalisten kommunizieren. Aber momentan bin ich zufrieden mit dem, wie es ist. Eine Band, die mir eine perfekte Plattform bietet, und eine Menge Vocals auf der Platte: Traumhaft!

Rigmor Gustafsson

Carina: Herausragend unter deinen Lehrern war Sheila Jordan - hat sie dir etwas Spezielles für dein eigenes Singen und Unterrichten mit auf den Weg gegeben?

Rigmor: Sie ist eine phantastische Persönlichkeit. Hauptsächlich hat sie mich durch die Art beeinflußt wie sie ist. Sie ist total inspirierend, gleichzeitig sehr fürsorglich - und einfach eine großartige Frau mit einer Menge Erfahrung. Eine Eigenschaft an ihr besonders hervorzuheben fiele mir schwer - es ist ihr ganzes Sein, das anregend ist. Und ich wünsche mir, dem in irgendeiner Form nahe zu kommen - dass sie mich hoffentlich dahingehend beeinflußt hat!

Carina: Du wechselst beim Gesang oft zwischen Text und Lautmalerei. Dann fügst du dich quasi als Instrument in die Gruppe der Mitmusiker ein. Wie wurde das zu einem deiner Hauptschwerpunkte?

Rigmor: Du meinst, wie das entstanden ist? Schwer zu sagen - ich vermute, das liegt schlicht daran, dass ich als Instrumentalistin angefangen habe. Jahrelang war die Gitarre mein Hauptinstrument - ich wollte unbedingt Gitarristin werden. Aber dann merkte ich, dass es Spaß macht, auch genauso zu singen - dass also diese kleinen Linien, wie ich sie auf der Gitarre spiele, auch wirklich singbar sind. Es fühlte sich ganz natürlich an, Gitarrensolos wie Scat-Solos zu singen, ohne Worte und zusammen mit den Bläsern.

Und ich vermute, auf diesem Weg ist das alles entstanden. Ich habe ja Jazz studiert, und Improvisation, und verschiedene Stilistiken auf der Gitarre. Aber ich stellte fest, dass es für mich viel einfacher ist, zu singen. Und Singen bedeutete für mich nie: Ich singe, und eine Band unterstützt mich dabei - und ich singe nur Lyrics...

Rigmor Gustafsson - "I will wait for you"

Carina: Du warst für drei Jahre in den Vereinigten Staaten und hast dort u.a. als Lehrer am "Mannes College of Music" gearbeitet, wo du auch selbst studiert hast. Warum bist du 1996 nach Schweden zurückgekehrt?

Rigmor: Das hatte einen sehr konkreten Hintergrund - ich hatte in New York studiert, anschließend eineinhalb Jahre gearbeitet, ein wenig unterrichtet und versucht, als Freelancer klar zu kommen. Und dann hatte ich Probleme mit meinem Visum. Ich mußte mir ein neues besorgen, nachdem ich erfuhr, das ich für meinen weiteren Aufenthalt eins brauchte. Genau zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem ich entschieden hatte, mir irgendwie Geld beschaffen, um das Visum zu bezahlen, erhielt ich einen Anruf von der Royal Academy of Music. Das ist die Hochschule in Stockholm. Sie teilten mir mit, dass eine Stelle im Bereich des Jazzvocalunterrichts vakant sei, und baten um meine Bewerbung.

Ich entgegnete, dass ich eigentlich ja in New York bleiben wollte - gleichzeitig wusste ich aber genau, dass eben das ziemlich schwierig werden würde, wegen dem Visum, an das ich irgendwie herankommen müsste. Und ich wollte ja auch nicht weiter studieren oder etwas in der Richtung. Illegal da bleiben kam für mich auch nicht in Frage, obwohl eine Reihe meiner Freunde und Bekannten so etwas gemacht haben, als ihre Visa ausliefen. In die Lage wollte ich mich aber nicht begeben, denn ich wollte weiter in der Welt umherreisen können... Also habe ich letztendes zugestimmt, dass ich mich bewerben würde. Ich ging heim und stellte meine Unterlagen für den Job zusammen - und bekam ihn tatsächlich!

Gut, dachte ich bei mir, vielleicht ist es ohnehin an der Zeit, wieder nach Hause zu gehen. Immerhin war ich etwa dreieinhalb Jahre in New York gewesen, und dieses gute Jobangebot aus Schweden konnte man als Wink vom Himmel ansehen. Und es war am Ende die richtige Entscheidung; ich bin sehr froh darüber, dass ich es wirklich gewagt habe. Es war so etwas wie ein neuer Anfang, und dann habe ich auch noch die Verträge mit Prophone und schließlich mit ACT bekommen. Wer könnte sich da schon beschweren?

Nils Landgren - Rigmor Gustafsson

Carina: Außer dass du unterrichtest, schreibst und arrangierst du noch für verschiedene Gesangsgruppen, für Jazzensembles und Big-Bands. Deine eigenen Projekte wären natürlich auch noch zu nennen. Wo steckst du deine Energie hin - und was macht dir am meisten Spaß?

Rigmor: Wenn du so fragst, das, was ich wirklich am liebsten mache, ist komponieren. Einfach nur für mich selbst. Genauer gesagt, während ich komponiere, denke ich nicht darüber nach, ob es für eine Big Band oder so sein wird - ich schreibe einfach den Song. Das ist mal so, mal so - aber meistens fängt es damit an, dass eine Ahnung von einer Melodie oder eine harmonische Wendung im Raum steht.

Manchmal ist es auch eine Textzeile. Nach einer Weile wächst es und wird zu einer konkreten Idee. Um die auf eine Grundlage zu stellen, muss ich sie natürlich irgendwie instrumentieren. Normalerweise denke ich dabei nicht daran, mit welcher Gruppe ich es aufführen werde, sondern konzentriere mich auf die Musik.

Carina Prange

Aktuelles Album: Rigmor Gustafsson - "I will wait for you"
(ACT 9518-2)

ACT-Music: www.actmusic.com

Das vollständige Interview erschien im Jazz Podium 9/2003

Photos: ACT Music

© jazzdimensions2004
erschienen: 9.2.2004
   home | interviews | reviews | clubtermine | tourtermine | festivaltermine | news | links
Sitemap  |   Impressum

 
interviews
reviews
live/clubs/berlin
live/on tour
live/festivals
news
links
home
info@jazzdimensions.de
Diese Seite drucken/Print this page
Empfehlungen: